Start Planning
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Indonesian itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

Today – 26 May 2017 – is not a holiday in Indonesia.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

— April 19, 2017 (Wed) has been declared a public holiday in Greater Jakarta for the gubernatorial runoff election.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
28 JanSatChinese New Year
28 MarTueBali Hindu New Year
14 AprFriGood Friday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
19 AprWedVoting Day *
24 AprMonIsra Mi'raj
1 MayMonLabour Day
11 MayThuWaisak Day
25 MayThuAscension Day of Jesus Christ
1 JunThuPancasila Day
25 JunSunHari Raya Idul Fitri
26 JunMonLebaran Holiday
27 JunTueLebaran Holiday
28 JunWedLebaran Holiday
29 JunThuLebaran Holiday
30 JunFriLebaran Holiday
17 AugThuIndependence Day
1 SepFriIdul Adha
21 SepThuIslamic New Year
1 DecFriProphet Muhammad's Birthday
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueChristmas Holiday

Note: Voting Day is a public holiday in Greater Jakarta only.

Indonesian public holidays are set each year by Joint Ministerial Decree. Each year, the holiday dates are determined by various ministers, departments and decrees.

The concept of  ‘cuti bersama’ (joint holiday) has been introduced by the Indonesian Government with the aim to promote domestic tourism. Joint holidays are provided to prolong holiday weekends (usually given on a Monday or Friday). Thus, if a public holiday falls on a Thursday, the ‘joint holiday’ program encourages your employer to give you the Friday off so that you have a four-day weekend.

According to Article 85 of ‘Act 13 of 2003 Indonesian Manpower/Labour Law’, workers are not obliged to work on public holidays. However, if work is required to be done on public holidays, employers are subject to pay overtime payments to the workers.

Note: The official 2017 public holiday dates were released by the Joint Ministerial Decree on 14 April 2016.